Is your kids’ hair driving you mad? Try this: ‘Original Sprout’

I keep on meaning to do a post along the lines of ‘stuff that I love’, or, more appropriately: ‘stuff that I couldn’t live without’! I promise that I will do this eventually. If I’m honest, as far as my kids are concerned, this list is a bit of a work in progress, as I have yet to find the perfect moisturiser or bubble bath for them. However, one thing that I have been hooked on is the shampoo I have been using with my older son since he was about two.

I should explain that my son actually has very different hair to me. Being bi-racial, his hair is curly and quite dry. It’s consequently been a bit of a journey of discovery for me trying to find stuff that would work with him. In fact, it’s taken me about five years to realise that he actually doesn’t need his hair washed more than about twice a week, and (although I absolutely adore his curls) the best way to keep them tamed is to brush his hair with a very soft brush when it’s still wet.

The one thing I have been using on his hair religiously for the past three years is a shampoo from the ‘Original Sprout Company’ (www.originalsprout.co.uk).

I can’t even remember what I used on his hair before this, although I do recall pretty much reaching the end of my tether, as although there are lot of organice/eco-friendly shampoos on the market, none of them seemed to cater for his hair type. It just didn’t sit comfortably with me using any of the mainstream stuff for curly hair on him, given how young he was.

‘Original Sprout’ claims to be ‘the only professional paraben & sulfate free hair & skin care line for babies & up’. I really can’t vouch for the accuracy of this, but I will say that there products are fantastic.

I stumbled across ‘Original Sprout’ after an internet search and at the time it was only available online, although, as you will see from their website, it is now also available at a few select retailers including John Lewis and Harrods. (If you are in the vicinity of Wimbledon it is also availbe at ‘Trade Secret’ in Centre Court).

The range includes Shampoos, Conditioners, as well as various styling products and other items.

It caters for all hair types ranging from African, multi-racial, Asian to European kids’ hair. It kind of goes without saying that such a range could only stem from the US, which still seems to be light years ahead in terms of catering for its diverse population.

The website in itself is highly informative, and gives an in-depth guide as to how cope with any kind of hair problem with kids.

Their products are not the cheapest, admittedly. A bottle of shampoo costs around £14, but, to put this in context, one bottle tends to last a hell of a long time, as you really only needs a relatively small amount for each wash. We have had our current bottle for about 6 mnths, and it should last us for at least another two or three.

Comments

  1. Karin says:

    Thank you for this post!

    I have a bi-racial daughter myself and have never been able to find a good organic alternative to her regular hairproducts. Whenever her hair gets too tangled I just use my very expensive hair mask and then brush the hair with the mask still in it. It makes the hair very soft but it only lasts for a couple of days. Before I started doing the hair masks I would buy products from a dodgy African shop but it none of them worked that well. Probably because her hair doesn’t have the African texture, just the curls.

    I will pop in to John Lewis this week and buy some.

  2. Hi Karin,
    I hope you find their range works for you. I would definitely recommend using some of their other products with the shampoo, especially the conditioner.

Leave a Reply

