Bourjois healthy mix serum: perfect for sensitive types

Bourjois' Healthy Mix Serum, Gel foundation

I received this foundation from Bourjois to review just before Christmas, and really wanted to give it a proper try before giving it my final verdict.

For those who don’t read my blog regularly, I have quite dry, sensitive skin so if I do use foundation, it tends to be something that’s also moisturising (e.g. tinted moisturisers and more recently B.B. creams). I am always slightly cautious with anything new in case I have a reaction to it.

Anyway, bearing this in mind I tried out Bourjois’ new foundation, launched at the tail end of last year, which is described as a gel foundation, with slight trepidation, although also with some excitement.

Bourjois healthy mix serum in no. 56The foundation comes with a pump dispenser which means that there is no danger of getting too much out. The amount shown to the left is about how much I would use for light coverage.

The texture is not, in my opinion, all that gel-like but instead more of a lightweight cream, which blends in really easily. (It’s definitely much lighter than the Garnier B.B. Cream I am currently using).

The smell is lovely and fruity, which is not surprising as it contains a gorgeous combination of vitamin rich fruits including pomegranate, goji berries and lychee, which all makes for a really pleasing experience on application.

Bourjois healthy mix serum, Gel foundation in no. 56

A flawless finish...

The final finish is incredibly flawless and yet still natural, and is about as heavy as I would go with a foundation.

Here I am wearing the foundation in no. 56, although now that I see these pictures I do wonder whether I could go a shade deeper (the eternal dilemma for Asian skin!)

The good news as far as I’m concerned is that I have not had a reaction to the foundation at all, which has been really soothing on my quite dry skin.

The Bourjois healthy mix serum promises to stay put for 16 hrs, and although I can’t vouch for this, I actually haven’t had to retouch too much once I’ve applied it in the morning.

With all the hype surrounding the UK launch of B.B. Creams I don’t think this product has had as much hype as it should have, as it really looks and feels like something far more expensive. (It retails for around £10).

I am definitely planning on restocking once it runs out.

Have you tried it yet? What did you think?

Comments

  1. Looks ideal on you, really lovely finish. I quite like mine but generally I prefer a higher coverage xx

  2. Thanks Laura x

Leave a Reply

