Madara: an eco-friendly skin tint

Madara eco cosmetics and skin care - Award winning sunflower tinting fluid moisturiser

I was really excited about doing my review on Madara deco-face in sunflower, until I googled it, and realised that there have actually been a fair few reviews of this particular tinted moisturiser already, and as you can see it has already garnered quite a few beauty awards. Oh well…here’s my tuppence worth on it.

The reason I was so excited about this particular review is that Madara is an incredibly eco-friendly brand, and I’m very conscious of the fact that I am not reviewing enough eco-friendly make-up at the moment. It was recommended to me by a friend, and and as my much-loved and much-used Laura Mercier tinted moisturiser is about to run out it seemed like a good time to try it. I managed to get a sample of the ‘Madara Decoface tinting fluid’ (to give it its full name) sent to me by http://www.naturisimo.com, while placing an order for all my usual Lavera favourites.

Here’s a link to Madara’s website: http://www.madara-cosmetics.com.  It’s a Latvian brand (yes, really!) and you’ll see from their website that they have quite an extensive range of cosmetics, which is worth exploring, as their eco-credentials are impeccable. I’m going to limit my review to the tinting fluid as this is the only product I’ve tried so far. It comes in only two colours (shame) so I chose the darker one…’Sunflower’. (I’m still not sure whether this isn’t too light for me. I think I just about get away with it in the winter when my skin is sun-deprived, but it might not necessarily work once I get a bit of colour on my cheeks.)

The blurb for ‘Decoface’ says: ‘Decoface organic tinting fluid sun flower tints, illuminates and lightly moisturises your skin for an even skin tone. decoface organic tinting fluid sun flower gives the skin a fresh, radiant, and a summer glow. decoface organic tinting fluid sun flower disguises imperfections and fine lines. decoface organic tinting fluid sun flower is a lighter alternative to foundation’.

Madara tinting fluid sun flowerThis swatch is taken before blending. Don’t be fooled by the colour though, as once it’s blended its barely visible, and really just provides a very light coverage.

This swatch shows what it looks like once it’s blended:Madara tinting fluid blended

As you can see the coverage is very light. I personally quite like it as it gives a nice glowy look, which is great for making you feel a little bit more polished for a quick outing to the shops/school etc. without looking overly made-up. It doesn’t however do much to cover any imperfections, so I would say this is really one for anyone who’s skin has minimal imperfections, or for someone who is confident with a less made-up look. It is quite a thin fluid and does feel slightly odd to apply. However, I would definitely persevere as the finished product is quite nice. You actually don’t need to apply that much to get a decent coverage.

I was trying to take a ‘made-up’ shot of myself which showed the finished article, but most actually came out slightly too glowy, i.e. looked like I needed some powder and concealer, so am keeping those to myself for now. It proves my point though that this is really one for a low-maintenance look; don’t expect perfection.

Decoface retails at £23, so it’s slightly on the pricier side. It is however in my opinion compare very well to other more mainstream tinted moisturisers in the same price bracket, as is a definite contender for me in replacing my LM one.

(PS: talking of tinted moisturisers, I ordered my Jouer 15ml tinted moisturiser a few days ago (as recommended by Ruth Crilly of http://www.amodelrecommends.com), very excited and will review as soon I’ve tried it out properly!)

Trackbacks

  1. […] Madara: an eco-friendly skin tint – Beauty but more… Madara eco cosmetics and skin care – Award winning sunflower tinting fluid moisturiser. I was really excited about doing my review on Madara deco-face in sunflower, until I googled it, and realised that there have actually . […]

Leave a Reply

