It’s that Friday feeling: my thoughts on this week’s news

Apologies dear readers for my extended absence. It’s not to do with anything else other than recovering from half-term, my son’s sixth birthday party and just trying to get myself back on an even keel on the work front. Added to that I am starting to think more and more that I would rather be earning some money for the writing I’m doing, rather than blogging for free, but that’s a different story.

Part of the reason for my absence has been that I’ve not found that much inspiring around me to tell you about. I’ve been hanging out on Twitter and my new ‘The Times’ app quite a bit and getting a bit worked up about how everyone’s suddenly decided Tesco and Claire’s Accessories are evil empires that must be stamped out at all costs.

In the case of Tesco’s I would have to agree that the practice of getting people to work for nothing is completely unacceptable. However, the tendency to just jump on Tesco, when quite a few other retailers were engaging in similar practices is I suspect to do with the very British mentality of stamping on anyone or anything seen to be doing too well. Yes, Tesco isn’t necessarily my favourite hang-out either but it it incredibly popular and obviously fills a void. If some sections of the media were in charge we’d all be hanging out in quirky groceries and  ditzy boutiques buying fabulously expensive ethically sourced vegetables, tahini and £30 balsamic vinegar . Reality-check media peeps: most people are not able to afford that life-style.

Talking of quirky,  Claire’s Accessories have apparently been copying the designs of a very ‘in’ quirky designer by the name of Tatty Devine (who?). Tatty Devine are a firm favourite with fashion types it turns out, who were the first to jump on this particular bandwagon, and if Twitter is anything to go by, legions of others followed. Hang on a moment though..  hasn’t this been done a zillion times before by high street retailers…it’s actually what makes the fashion world go round…trends making their way down to the high street where ordinary folk like you and me can actually afford to buy into them….

Here’s a picture of the ‘offending’ products:

tatty devine claire's accessories

Oh, and guess what, the Claire’s Accessories stuff is probably sold for a few quid, while the Tatty Devine jewellery is usually priced around the £50-200 mark…hmmm, I know which one I’d rather go for…
Leave a Reply

