My new vibrating friend…

Thought that might make you want to read this post.

Well, sorry to dissappoint, but this post is actually about a lovely new toothbrush that Colgate has just launched, and which I received for review.

Sonic action toothbrush from Colgate

I couldn’t really refuse…given the state of my teeth and all that. Let’s just say my terribly sweet tooth combined with not remembering to floss regularly make for a pretty lethal dental combination.

I have to say the Colgate Proclinical A1500 (bit of a mouthful) toothbrush has been a little bit of an eye opener. It has a sonic wave action which  literally leaves your teeth, gums and mouth zinging….feeling like you’ve just come out of a two-hour session with a dental hygenist. When you think about it in those terms, the price ((£169.99) starts making more sense. Yes, I know what you’re thinking at this point: ‘that’s a hell of a lot of money to pay for a toothbrush’, but if you compare to your average dental/hygenist bill…it all starts making more financial sense.

The secret to this toobrush is apparently its ‘unique smart sensors to engage different speeds and cleaning actions based on the position it is held in your mouth. The actual brush is also small, and so fits neatly into all those ‘hard to reach places’.

I’ve mainly been using the brush in ‘Auto’ mode which automatically adjusts, but there are more vigorous cleaning modes, which I haven’t tried yet. The massage action on the gums did make my gums ache after the first couple of uses…although I suspect this is a good thing, and probably more a reflection of the state of my gums than anything else.

This Colgate toothbrush also features a 2-minute timer which is supposed to help you clean your teeth for the ‘recommended’ number of minutes. A word of warning here: those 2 minutes can feel more like 2 hours.

The true test will obviously come when I visit my dentist tomorrow!

All in all, as December approaches, I would recommend this as a brilliant Christmas present as ‘the gift that keeps on giving’ (!)

Leave a Reply

