Aveda’s ‘Invati’ range for thinning hair

Aveda Invati range

I was sent the Aveda ‘Invati’ ‘solution for thinning hair’ haircare system over two months ago, through the Mumsnet Bloggers Network (http://www.mumsnet.com/bloggers-network).

Given that I love Aveda and its ethic, it was pretty exciting to be asked to try out their new range. My hair has been pretty straggly and thin since having my kids, and this seemed a good opportunity to do something about that.

I was asked to try the range for two months before reviewing it. This is an honest, unbiased review based on my experience of using the range.

The ‘Invati’ hair care range consists of an exfoliating shampoo, a thickening conditioner and a separate ‘scalp revitalizer’, which is a topical treatment applied to the scalp and then massaged in.

According to the blurb on the packaging, ‘Invati’, means ‘invigorate’ in Sanskrit and ‘taps the power of Ayurveda – the ancient healing art of India – to help revitalise the scalp with turmeric’.

Turmeric is a recurrent theme throughout the whole range, and to fair, turmeric is being found to have some amazing healing properties in relation to all sorts of ailments. Something that I was already very much aware of, given that my dear mother is constantly rambling on about the benefits of ‘haldi’, as we call it.

So, how did I get on with Aveda’s new range?

Well, let’s start with the shampoo, which is designed to remove the build-up which can clog up the pores. Although I definitely liked the sound of that, and it certainly seemed to make sense, in practice I found the very thin and runny consistency of the shampoo incredibly irritating and difficult to work into a lather. So much so, that I usually had to use it twice before I felt that I had actually washed and cleansed my hair. With rapeseed oil and ginseng the smell was pleasant enough, but not sufficient to make up for the lack of enjoyment I got from actually applying the product.

Next the thickening conditioner. This was pretty much my favourite product in the whole range, as, to be honest, by the time I had finished with the shampoo, my hair was so straggly, it was pretty much crying out for something to soothe and condition it!

Finally, the ‘Scalp revitalizer’. This is a serum which is supposed to be applied directly to the scalp. The instructions say to ‘spray 8 times on each side of the scalp and massage in’ and to  ‘apply twice daily’. I have to be honest, this product completely confounded me. Although I initially applied it as directed to my dried and straightened hair, I soon got sick of the straggly and greasy look it created. I didn’t see how you could possibly use it twice a day without having continually having a ‘bad hair day’! In the end, and after some research, I decided to use it on a wet scalp directly after washing and before blow-drying. This did mean I was using it less frequently, but it was the only way I could see myself continuing to use this product.

So, what was the end result? Well, although I intially actively disliked the range, I eventually came to think of it as being ‘ok’. Ocasionally I felt that it was making a slight difference to the condition of my hair. However, in the end, I didn’t feel it made enough of a difference to justify the price tags (the whole range will set you back around £80) or the lack of enjoyment I got from using the range. (For more information on pricing see http://www.aveda.co.uk/products/8419/Collections/InvatiTM/index.tmpl)

Here’s a before shot of me using the range:

Aveda 'Invati' 'Before' shot

And here’s an ‘after’ photo:

Aveda 'Invati': after 2 months' use

 

Leave a Reply

